event

Island Community Land Trust Roundtable


 

On Friday, April 30, 2021, the Schumacher Center for a New Economics will host a virtual Community Land Trust Roundtable to highlight two practitioners tackling the problem of land access in island communities. The roundtable will feature Sandy Bishop of Lopez Community Land Trust of Lopez Island in Washington and Philippe Jordi of Island Housing Trust on Martha’s Vineyard in Massachusetts.

The roundtable will be moderated by Natasha Hulst, European Land Commons Program Director.

This free event will take place at 1 PM EDT (10 AM PDT/ 7 PM CEST). Register below.

Register here

Share:

Event Speakers

Natasha Hulst

Natasha Hulst is the Schumacher Center’s Program Director for European Land Commons Natasha’s role is to support international and national collaboration for land commons. Raising awareness of Community Land Trusts as a proven vehicle to broaden access to land in a fair, place-based, democratic, and voluntary manner. Together with a group of organisations she recently … Continued

Sandy Bishop

Sandy Bishop is the Executive Director of Lopez Community Land Trust  (LCLT).  She was a co-founder in establishing LCLT in 1989. LCLT’s first affordable housing project was considered the premiere community land trust project on the west coast and was featured in national publications.  Sandy has over 30 years of project management for local community based developments. In … Continued

Philippe Jordi

Philippe Jordi is the founding executive director of the Island Housing Trust, a non-profit community development corporation and community land trust on the island of Martha’s Vineyard in Massachusetts. Philippe’s work with the Trust has focused on creating a mosaic of scattered site ownership and rental housing that fits within existing neighborhoods and provide long-term … Continued