The Schumacher Center’s online collection of lectures and publications represent some of the foremost voices on a new economics. Included are the Annual E. F. Schumacher Lectures, launched in 1981 with Wendell Berry and Wes Jackson as speakers and continuing annually since then.

Those first lectures emphasized the importance of vibrant regional economies at a time when the focus of the nation was on an expanding global economy. Much has happened since then. The promise of the global economy has faded in face of ever greater wealth disparity and environmental degradation. There is growing interest in building a new economy that is just and recognizes planetary limits. Schumacher Center speakers have been at the forefront, envisioning and applying these concepts worldwide.

Past lectures have been transcribed and edited by Hildegarde Hannum. They are available as pamphlets and e-books. Order individually or as a collection for your community center, your local library, or other educational institutions. Each pamphlet is 5 Berkshares or 5 dollars. Order pamphlets hereOr, if you prefer to read online, all lectures are available free of cost. 


John Abrams

Nwamaka Agbo

Gar Alperovitz

Donald L. Anderson

Dan Barber

Benjamin R. Barber

Peter Barnes

Fay Bennett

Wendell Berry

Thomas Berry

Mary Berry

Robert HawkStorm Bergin

David Bollier

Merrian Goggio Borgeson

Ralph Borsodi

Elise M. Boulding

David Boyle

David R. Brower

Christopher H. Budd

Majora Carter

Marie Cirillo

George D. Davis

Gopal Dayaneni

Matthew Derr

David Ehrenfeld

William Ellis

John Fullerton

Chellis Glendinning

Neva Goodwin

Hunter G. Hannum

Erick S. Hansch

Eric Harris-Braun

Alanna Hartzok

Richard Heinberg

Hazel Henderson

Ivan Illich

Dana Lee Jackson

Wes Jackson

Jane Jacobs

Van Jones

Margrit Kennedy

Andrew Kimbrell

Leopold Kohr

David C. Korten

Winona LaDuke

Anna Lappé

Frances Moore Lappé

Robert Leonard

Karissa Lewis

Christopher Lindstrom

Thomas Linzey

Michelle Long

Amory B. Lovins

Kevin Lyons

Oren Lyons

Alice Maggio

Jerry Mander

John McClaughry

Bill McKibben

John L. McKnight

George McRobie

Deborah Meier

Stephanie Mills

Stacy Mitchell

John Mohawk

Sally Fallon Morell

David Morris

Helena Norberg-Hodge

Richard B. Norgaard

David W. Orr

Leah Penniman

Will Raap

Kirkpatrick Sale

Allan Savory

William A. Schambra

Otto Scharmer

Juliet B. Schor

E. F. Schumacher

Vandana Shiva

Michael H. Shuman

Bren Smith

Cathrine Sneed

James Gustave Speth

Charlene Spretnak

Joseph A. Stanislaw

Matt Stinchcomb

Robert Swann

Gordon Thorne

John Todd

Nancy Jack Todd

Simon Trace

Charles Turner

Jakob von Uexkull

Stewart Wallis

Sarah Waring

Greg Watson

Andreas Weber

Ed Whitfield

Judy Wicks

Susan Witt

Barbara Wood

Caroline Woolard

Arthur Zajonc