Canada - Schumacher Center for New Economics


British Columbia

Denman Community Land Trust Association
3900 Lacon Road
Denman Island, BC
V0R 1T0

Date Incorporated: 2008
To create longterm affordable housing for residents of Denman Island who are most at risk.
Land Holdings

Governance Details: All directors are residents of Denman Island. Bylaws.

Community Land Trust
220-1651 Commercial Dr.
Vancouver, BC
V5L 3Y3

Date Incorporated: 1993
To provide stable, quality housing for low and moderate income household and support mix use developments that include residential, retail, and community space.
Land Holdings:
More than 250 housing co-ops (almost 14,000 homes) with sites located throughout British Columbia.
Governance Details: The Community Land Trust is governed by the 12-member board of the Co-operative Housing Federation of BC. CHF BC’s mission is to unite, represent and serve its members in a thriving co-operative housing movement.  Its directors are elected by delegates representing CLT residents.

Hogan's Alley Trust
3105 33rd Street
Vernon, BC
V1T 9P7
(250) 540-8572 

Date Incorporated: 2019
To create a renaissance movement for social, political, cultural and economic revival from Vancouver’s black community.
Land Holdings: 
Still organizing. 

Salt Spring Community Housing and Land Trust Society
c/o Box 98 Ganges PO
Salt Spring IslandBC
V8K 2K6
(250) 537-9644

Purpose: Acquires and holds land in perpetuity for affordable housing and other community benefits such as agriculture. The society is committed to creating affordable homes for qualified Salt Spring residents and to secure the ongoing affordability of these homes for the community by owning and leasing land to home buyers.

Vernon & District Community Land Trust
c/o Social Planning Council of the North Okanagan
3105 33rd Street
Vernon, BC V1T 9P7
(250) 540-8572 

Purpose: A permanent supply of affordable housing to meet the needs of the North Okanagan.
Land Holdings

Governance Details: Board members are elected yearly by the Active Members at the Annual General Meeting of the Land Trust. 

New Brunswick

South Knowlesville Community Land Trust
111 Simms Rd
Knowlesville, NB
E7L 4P7

Date Incorporated: 2010
Purpose: Sustainable, affordable rural community. 
Land Holdings: The property consists of 20 acres of hayfield and 29 acres of woods, alder brush, regenerating old pasture and wetlands. The hayfield will be devoted for agricultural production and the drier areas of woods and old pasture will be for residential and mixed commercial development. 


Hamilton Community Land Trust
350 King Street East, Suite 104
Hamilton, ON
L8N 3Y3

Date Incorporated: 2014
Purpose: To make better use of underused land, and preserve or create new community assets, such as housing, parks, community space, work space, and gardens. 
Additional Information: Began as the Beasley Neighborhood CLT, was supported by nonprofit and city government to expand into a city-wide program.

Kensington Market Land Trust
Kensington Market
Toronto, ON 
M5T 2K2

Date Incorporated: Still organizing.
Purpose: To safeguard the diversity and cultural integrity of rapidly gentrifying Kensington Market neighborhood.

Parkdale Neighbourhood Land Trust
1499 Queen St W
M6R 1A3

Date Incorporated: 2014
Purpose: PNLT will acquire land and use it to meet the needs of Parkdale by leasing it to non-profit partners who can provide affordable housing, furnish spaces for social enterprises and non-profit organizations, and offer urban agriculture and open space. Also, PNLT promotes community participation in guiding how land is used to benefit the community and keep Parkdale affordable and diverse.
Governance Details: Currently run by the board of directors nominated from members (open membership). 
Land Holdings: 
The Milky Way Garden is a 7000 square ft. previously vacant property in the heart of Parkdale (purchased from private owners directly) that will serve as a site for social enterprise, urban agriculture, environmental education, and community gatherings.
Funders: Ontario Trillium Foundation, an agency of the Government of Ontario.